Bluesky Brainstorming on Storygame Forum Features

edited April 2014 in General
In this thread I'm going to be talking to myself and inviting you to talk with me, hopefully mostly about specific features to enhance and augment the act of online storygaming. I'm doing this because I'm a programmer as well as a game designer, and I'm thinking of building such a system. Although I've seen lots of beautiful games run on hacked platforms originally intended for other purposes, and I've seen lots of platforms to support tabletop-like RPG experiences, I have yet to find a site that doesn't lack some features I think would be obvious to modern storygamers. Let's talk about those features.

What features might you expect to see in a state-of-the-art dedicated storygaming forum?

Comments

• Here's one feature we were talking about in the Big Maul ooc thread...

* The system should filter your alias based on the context of your post.

This means when I post out here in "General" it should say my username "AsIf". But when I post in the Big Maul thread it should say an alias: "Jet Black". If I had two or more games running simultaneously, the system would automatically print the alias that matched the game I was posting in at that moment.
  • - "playing as" by the name of the person who posted
    - whenever a character name is used (PC or NPC), it links to a wiki
    - variety of text colors to differentiate who is speaking (not required, but it can be nice)
    - easy picture embedding
    - easy YouTube and video embedding
    - scene summaries when the GM-MC concludes a scene that offer open text box or dropdown functions to tell others what the scene was about, what happened, maybe even track XP earned?
    - some way to "plus one" posts like G+ or RPGGeek without having to interrupt
    - a way to group scenes (which I like having as separate posts) so you could easily follow one PC through their path through a story