[JunkXIII] Jack the Brainer

edited February 2014 in Junkworld XIII

Jack the Brainer

Silence — or a tremendous lack thereof. Ever since I was a young man, I've been plagued with a near abundance of thoughts — both my own, and others. The darkness of a person's soul is enough to drive a man to drink, and I've observed many a dark corner that people's minds have to offer. I've gotten sick of it, you might say. I've been wandering this world for nearly 23 years, and the only thing that brings me even the slightest solace in these dark times is the beautiful company of Chopin, Bach, Mozart, and Rachmaninoff.

Their music brings me peace.

Looks

I am a man, wearing the finest wear I could get my hands on — a finely woven checkered dress shirt, and corduroy pants. My black peacoat, and finely woven scarf are admittedly a bit warm for the normal weather of this place, but it is quite fetching. A friend of mine once said I had a sweet face, eyes as soft as the moons, and a body equally so ... I probably should shave more often though.

Stats

Cool+1
Hard+3
Hot+1 Sharp=0
Weird+3

Moves

Casual brain receptivity: when you read someone, roll+weird instead of roll+sharp. Your victim has to be able to see you, but you don’t have to interact.
Preternatural at-will brain attunement: you get +1weird (weird+3).
Deep brain scan: when you have time and physical intimacy with someone — mutual intimacy like holding them in your arms, or 1-sided intimacy like they’re restrained to a table — you can read them more deeply than normal. Roll+weird. On a 10+, hold 3. On a 7–9, hold 1. While you’re reading them, spend your hold to ask their player questions, 1 for 1:
• what was your character’s lowest moment?
• for what does your character crave forgiveness, and of whom?
• what are your character’s secret pains?
• in what ways are your character’s mind and soul vulnerable?
On a miss, you inflict 1-harm (ap) upon your subject, to no benefit.